Top of page.

Dundee Liberal Democrats -

We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off

Nick Clegg presents the first ever Dadabhai Naoroji Awards

October 17, 2014 7:00 PM
Originally published by UK Liberal Democrats

Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg has today announced the winners of the inaugural Dadabhai Naoroji Awards, bestowed by the British Government for services to UK-India relations.

The Awards were judged by ministers following nominations from the public and attended by Indian External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj.

The winners are:

Presenting the awards, Nick Clegg said:

"It gives me great pleasure to present these awards to three outstanding individuals on behalf of the British Government. Patricia Hewitt, Asha Khemka and Madhav Sharma have worked tirelessly to strengthen the bond between the UK and India.

"As advocates of UK-India relations, their work continues in the same spirit as that of Dadabhai Naoroji, helping our two great nations work together to achieve fairness, mutual understanding and economic prosperity.

"The awards remind us that our relationship with India is one which we must continue to foster, and one from which both our nations have a great deal to gain."